Jon Taylor

Drummer, Percussionist, Composer, Improviser, Educator


active Projects


polyfold musical arts collective

POLYFOLD is a collective of musical artists who have joined together to develop, and present creative works. Founded in Detroit, Polyfold produces concerts and recordings, hosts outreach events and educational workshops, and fosters creative community in Detroit and beyond.



Saajtak was formed in late 2014 by vocalist  Alex Koi, electronic artist Simon Alexander-Adams, and drummer Jon taylor, all longtime collaborators and avid sonic explorers.  With a shared affinity for free improvisation and sound art, the trio collectively created a repertoire of spontaneous and energetic compositions that were expanded and perfected with the later addition of fellow auditory adventurer, bassist Ben Willis. Through almost ritualistic collaborative sessions, Saajtak is constantly developing musical environments that defy genre and invigorate listeners.

Saajtak is based in Detroit, Michigan



Premiered in Detroit In November of 2016, Mover is a 4 part suite for improvisors featuring an original system of graphic notation that seeks new perspectives of sonic improvisation by directing each instrumentalists physical movement. A release of the performance is forthcoming, featuring Molly Jones, Jake Shadik, Marcus Elliot, Michael Malis and Jaribu Shahid



Improvised music from kindred spirits and longtime musical collaborators marcus elliot (reeds), Betsy soukup (bass), and jon taylor (percussion). The trio's shared passion for spiritual growth via nature-based meditative practices informs its unique musical dialogue, creating an intimate sound rooted in ritual and reverence.


Says things

improvisatory electroacoustic duo project with derek worthington (trumpet/electronics). The pared down instrumentation allows space for electronic explorations of timbre and texture, taking the sound of the acoustic instruments to the breaking point. recently finished mixing our debut album that should see the light of the day in late 2016 or early 2017. 


Sonic perfume

Sonic Perfume is an adventurous quartet that spans across the lines and borders of jazz as well as geographical locations. Splitting members between Canada and Michigan, Patrick Booth, Jonathan Taylor, Phill Albert, and Patrick O’Reilly continue to push music forward by exploring compositions intended for improvisation, drawing on the diverse history of modern jazz traditions.
The group explores improvisation both in and out of form, time, instrumental roles, group politics, and expectations.


mountain shark

One of the country's premiere voice-cello-trumpet-violin-mandolin-tabla-drums driven folk/rock/jazz bands. Its members:

Dave haughey- Voice, cello, bouzouki

derek worthington- trumpet

brad kuykendall- violin, mandolin

jon taylor- drums, tabla